Forgrave: Overtime Replay "Not The Spirit Of The Rule"

A controversial overturn may have played a role in the outcome of the national championship Monday

The DA Show
April 09, 2019 - 11:28 am
Categories: 

Virginia won its first national championship in program history Monday, beating Texas Tech 85-77 – and an overtime review may have played a role in the outcome

Indeed, with a little more than a minute remaining in overtime – and Texas Tech trailing by two – Virginia’s De’Andre Hunter swiped the ball out of Davide Moretti’s hand. The ball went out of bounds, giving Texas Tech possession with a chance to tie or take the lead.

A replay review, however, overturned the call, as the ball appeared to graze Moretti’s pinky finger after Hunter swiped it out of his hands. Many people were unhappy with that decision, saying an overturn in that instance is not in the spirit of the rule.

Fair?

“You may be asking the wrong guy altogether because I’d do away with replay entirely,” Reid Forgrave said on The DA Show. “Make it up to human error again. I don’t like replay in basketball. That play kind of reminds me of when someone is stealing a base in baseball and they over-slide second base by two inches, and the second baseman holds the tag and because he over-slid, technically you go to replay and that’s an out. That’s not the spirit of the rule. But someone is able to challenge that, and you can say, ‘Actually, he was off the bag, and it’s the right call.’ 

“I think that’s the case last night,” Forgrave continued. “When Kyle Guy is vehemently saying go to replay and Tony Bennett kind of taking up the charge, I don’t think they would have gone to the replay if Virginia doesn’t put up a stink there. It was clearly a close play, and I think from the replay, it’s pretty clearly off Texas Tech. Was it in the spirit of the rule? No, probably not. But that’s kind of the devil’s bargain we make when we go so in on technology in sports, so in on saying we want every play to be reviewed, we want everything to be correct. It was the correct call. Period. Virginia was just smart to make sure that it went to the monitor.”

Either way, Virginia went from humiliation to coronation, winning the national championship one year after losing to 16-seed UMBC. Critics, however, will cry conspiracy theory and say Virginia had all the calls go its way.

Forgrave’s response? Nonsense.

“The conspiracy stuff, come on, man,” he said. "They certainly had a lot of calls go their way – none bigger than that double-dribble from Ty Jerome, which happened literally 12 feet in front of me. Apparently nobody caught that double-dribble in the stadium or on TV until afterward. I kind of looked around like, ‘Did everybody miss that? What just happened?’ That was the biggest missed call of the tournament.”

Then there was the controversial foul on Guy, who hit three free throws to give Virginia a last-second win over Auburn.

“Was it a tacky-tack foul? Maybe, maybe not,” Forgrave said. “But by the definition of the rules, it was a foul. But when you look at that double-dribble, you could have called a foul on Bryce Brown in the middle of that play. He kind of grabs on Ty Jerome’s jersey.”

And then, of course, there was the Moretti overturn.

“People are going to look at that Davide Moretti play in overtime, and a lot of people are saying that was the play that decided the game last night,” Forgrave said. “Maybe, maybe not. But I do know replay looked pretty clear that it was off Davide Moretti. Yeah, they had a lot go their way, but you need luck. They certainly had an enormous amount of it.”