Playoff Committee Has "Gotten It Right Every Year"

Peach Bowl CEO Gary Stokan believes the playoff committee picked the right four teams this year – and every year prior

Taz and the Moose
December 11, 2019 - 9:46 am
Ed Ogeron LSU SEC Championship

USA Today Images


No. 1 LSU (13-0) and No. 4 Oklahoma (12-1) will square off in the Peach Bowl on Dec. 28, with a shot at the national championship on the line. 

Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl CEO Gary Stokan, like many, expects a high-scoring game between the SEC and Big 12 champions.

“We’re really happy,” Stokan said on Taz & The Moose. “You got the No. 1 and No. 2 offenses in the country, two quarterbacks that are going to be up here for the Heisman this week – (and) probably one that wins it. Jalen Hurts is coming back to Atlanta to play in the stadium where he led Alabama over Georgia in the SEC Championship, and you got two wide receivers up for the Biletnikoff Award. We’re going to have so much fireworks we may open up the roof at Mercedes-Benz Stadium.”

The Peach Bowl matchup could have been Ohio State versus Oklahoma, but LSU jumped the Buckeyes after beating Georgia 37-10 in the SEC Championship. Ohio State, meanwhile, fell behind 21-7 against Wisconsin in the Big Ten Championship before scoring 27 unanswered points to win 34-21.

Stokan, who has participated in a mock selection exercise, believes the committee picked the right four teams in the right order.

“The analytics they have about each team is just phenomenal,” he said. “They’ve gotten it right every year. You can’t make a mistake with all the information they have. Obviously this year was a little bit easier for them. We knew the top three going in. They were undefeated. Alabama, probably if they beat Auburn, would have been in contention. If they beat Auburn, they’re probably right in the mix. And Utah, if they beat Oregon, they’re probably in. It was an interesting championship weekend.”

The Peach Bowl last hosted a semifinal in 2016, when Alabama beat Washington 24-7. It will host the semifinals in 2022 and 2025.