Murray: Georgia "Didn't Deserve" Playoff Spot

Are the Bulldogs one of the four best teams in the country? Yes, Aaron Murray says, but they didn't earn a playoff spot

Tiki and Tierney
December 03, 2018 - 5:40 pm

USA Today Images


The Georgia Bulldogs came oh-so-close to toppling No. 1 Alabama (13-0) in the SEC Championship this past Saturday, but ultimately, they came up short. 

Georgia led by 14 in the first half and by 14 in the second half and couldn’t make either lead stick. Alabama won, 35-28, and Georgia was left on the outside looking in of the College Football Playoff.

Are the No. 5 Bulldogs (11-2) one of the best four teams in the country?

“This is where I’m torn,” former Georgia quarterback and current CBS Sports College Football Analyst Aaron Murray said on Tiki and Tierney. “I do think they are a top-four team. If you put them on the field against Clemson, I think that’s a really good matchup. That’s kind of a coin toss to me right now of who would win that game. But just watching Notre Dame – and I’m a big fan of Notre Dame, and I’m a big fan of Oklahoma. But if you put Georgia against those teams and if you would have asked the majority of those guys in that room making the decision, I think their gut feeling would be Georgia would win those games. I think Georgia would beat Notre Dame. I think Georgia would beat Oklahoma. So in my mind, that’s telling me they are a top-four team in the country.”

But it’s not that easy.

“They didn’t go earn it,” Murray said. “They didn’t deserve it. They lost to LSU, and they lost pretty bad. If they win that game against Alabama, they’re in. So that was their opportunity to get into the final four, and they didn’t take advantage of it, they didn’t earn it – they didn’t win it. So like I said, I’m torn. Are they a top-four team? Yes. Did they earn it? No. When the opportunity presented itself, they didn’t finish the deal.”

As it stands, the Bulldogs’ best win was a 36-17 victory over No. 10 Florida (9-3) in October. They will face No. 15 Texas (9-4) in the Sugar Bowl on Jan. 1 at 8:45 p.m. ET.